Shotgun Pricing

shotgun

For those who work with Shotgun or that always wanted to work with Shotgun, there’s some great news out there.

Shotgun announced a severe pricing change. Here’s what Don Parker had to say:

 Beginning next Monday the 18th, we’ll be combining Shotgun, Revolver (Review & Approval) and Tank (Asset Management & Pipeline Toolkit) into an integrated package with our API for only $49/user/month.

For me this is a big deal as the recent productions I worked on who used Shotgun couldn’t afford the whole whiz bang wallop feature set. I never had API access and Revolver was also out of reach. Now I’ll be able to automate a hell of a lot more stuff and get reviews done much quicker.

So Shotgun will no longer be just a web app I can use to look at what my next task is and what’s the length of my shots, it will also be my review tool and my version tracking system, and asset manager, and probably a lot more.

The remarkable thing about the people behind Shotgun is this change came from actually listening to customers! I guess that’s why I prefer using products from smaller companies, rather than the four big As (Adobe, Apple, Avid, Autodesk). Again from Don:

 After some soul searching and debating and spreadsheet rocking, we decided that following our clients’ lead was the best thing to do. We don’t want to nickel-and-dime you by selling add-ons and separate pieces of what really feels like one product. And we hate the idea of some of our clients not being able to use everything we’re building.

So thanks Shotgun guys!

You can read the whole announcement here.

Leave a Reply

