Modo Again

So apparently I just don’t know enough. Surprise, surprise.

I’ve been getting a lot of emails about Modo from friends and my handful of followers telling me how good Modo is.

 

Here are some facts

  • Modo was used on John Carter at Double Negative to create some of the scenes they were tasked in making. I worked on JC at Cinesite last year, so I’m feeling a little caught-with-my-pants-down here. But that’s great stuff! You can read about it here.
  • Modo was used to render this brilliant short called RUIN. It was made by Wes Ball at Oddball Animation. I do believe the best thing about this short, from a technical standpoint, is the rendering. Well done Modo!

Apparently, I missed something. As Robin Konieczny, Double Negative Senior Artist and Environmental Build Lead, says: “modo is an underrated program in our business”. Indeed it is.

Modo has a fully working 30 day trial for $25. When I get a moment, I’ll try it out.

 

Here’s RUIN

Watch it full frame.

2 thoughts on “Modo Again

  1. I love modo. I’m working in it right now. And the new 601 has some great new features such as replicators, and the topo pen. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on it when you get a chance to do the trial. They also have a free 15 day trial.

Leave a Reply

